The Victorian Curriculum F-10

The Victorian Curriculum F-10 sets out what every student should learn during their first eleven years of schooling. The curriculum is the common set of knowledge and skills required by students for life-long learning, social development and active and informed citizenship.


The Victorian Curriculum F-10 incorporates the Australian Curriculum and reflects Victorian priorities and standards.


The Victorian Curriculum F-10 includes eight learning areas and four capabilities. The learning areas of the Arts, Humanities and Technologies include distinct disciplines. The capabilities represent sets of knowledge and skills that are developed and applied across the curriculum.


The Victorian Curriculum F-10 includes both knowledge and skills. These are defined by learning areas and capabilities. This curriculum design assumes that knowledge and skills are  transferable across the curriculum and therefore are not duplicated. For example, where skills and knowledge such as asking questions, evaluating evidence and drawing conclusions are defined in Critical and Creative Thinking, these are not duplicated in other learning areas such as History or Health and Physical Education. It is expected that the skills and knowledge defined in the capabilities will be developed, practised, deployed and demonstrated by students in and through their learning across the curriculum.


The design of the Victorian Curriculum F-10 is set our below:


Learning Areas                                                         Capabilities

The Arts                                                                     Critical and Creative Thinking

  • Dance                                                                   Ethical
  • Drama                                                                   Intercultural
  • Media Arts                                                             Personal and Social
  • Music
  • Visual Arts
  • Visual Communication Design




Health and Physical Education


The Humanities

  • Civics and Citizenship
  • Economics and Business
  • Geography
  • History









  • Design and Technologies
  • Digital Technologies


More information can be found at: